VW Polo EPC light

http://www.bba-reman.com/forums/Topic6420.aspx
Print Topic | Close Window

By angola - 2/5/2005 7:25:27 AM
Allo all! This is my first time in one of these sites so go
gentle with me. I am a British mechanic maroned in Finland?! Don`t ask. Anyway in the place i work we
have a problem with a 2003 Polo and this warning light
EPC comes on from time to time. Anyone know why.
By K And R - 2/5/2005 3:12:51 AM
Angola
   EPC is V.W talk for drive by wire so it willl need a code read as something is playing up. Have more info if needed.
Kevin.
By angola - 2/5/2005 3:42:08 AM
Kevin
We got the car comming back on Wenesday. We did do
a scan for faults with our TEXA Diognostic system which we have just got. It told us that the electronic throttle pedal, and thottle butterfly were not calibrated correctly.
So to cut a long story short we re calibrated this system
with the TEXA. The car went, but customer called back,
the light was coming on again, at odd moments.
I have heard it could be something to do with a duff,brake light switch.
It comes back next week, so lets see how it goes.
Thanks very much for your intrest!       John
By K And R - 2/5/2005 4:00:51 AM
John
Parts in the system, Accelerator pedal position sensors G77 & G185, Throttle valve control unit J338. Throttle angle sensors G187 & G188, Clutch pedal switch F36, Brake light switch F & F47 + signals for auto-box + brake system (abs+trac) air-con & cruise if fitted (all imputs to ecu), Controlling the throttle valve control unit and the throttle valve drive+ epc light (out puts).
Kevin.
By Chuck_Wagon - 2/5/2005 10:02:13 AM
Angola,

Just wanted to say welcome to the forum and you can be assured of our best attention at all times.

No need to be worried because your marooned in Finland, we’ve all had times like these!

Anyway, Kevin seems to be taking care of you at the moment, and will probably sort it as he usually does. But we’re all waiting in the background to help when needed.