BBA-Reman Forums

Peugeot 406 2.0L HDI fault code P0190

Posted By Weslake234 Tuesday, February 12, 2019 5:57:39 AM
Add to Favorites0
Weslake234
 Posted Tuesday, February 12, 2019 5:57:39 AM
Saturday Job

Saturday Job - (4 reputation)Saturday Job - (4 reputation)Saturday Job - (4 reputation)Saturday Job - (4 reputation)Saturday Job - (4 reputation)Saturday Job - (4 reputation)Saturday Job - (4 reputation)Saturday Job - (4 reputation)Saturday Job - (4 reputation)

Group: Awaiting Activation
Last Active: Saturday, February 16, 2019 11:36:52 AM
My old 2000 406 2.0l HDI is in big trouble. Fault code P0190 showing. Fuel rail pressure sensor.
The engine suddenly cut out while driving. I am an old mechanic retired with 30 years experience and I disconnected the FRPS connection from the sensor and the car started in limp mode. I drove the car for several days until I began to get starting problems.
These got worse until eventually it would not start at all.
FRPS ignition on, shows reference voltage 4.9v signal 9.4v and ov on third pin. Ignition off signal wire still shows 1.4volts until BSI goes to sleep. Open a door to wake it up and the 1.4 volts returns.
Signal voltage is from ECU pin 74. To rule out wiring probs between ECU and sensor plug I cut the wire and voltage was still reading on ECU.
I have disconnected every engine sensor and still get the reading. Dual relay tested all ok. No dampness anywhere.
I suspected BSI fault but on chatting with BBA reman was told they have not come across this fault before and did not think it was BSI fault as everything else is working.
I am desperate as I have just done £800 of work on the old girl and is in absolutely top condition. Was hoping it would see me out as I am 82 years old now. I have seen identical symptoms on other forums on two occassions but they were not resolved.
Am just praying that someone can give me a lead.
Thanks in advance.