BBA-Reman Forums

Intermitent missfire on all cylinders

Posted By Andy4k6 Friday, August 09, 2019 5:56:34 AM
Add to Favorites0
Andy4k6
 Posted Friday, August 09, 2019 5:56:34 AM
Forum Tea Boy

Forum Tea Boy - (38 reputation)Forum Tea Boy - (38 reputation)Forum Tea Boy - (38 reputation)Forum Tea Boy - (38 reputation)Forum Tea Boy - (38 reputation)Forum Tea Boy - (38 reputation)Forum Tea Boy - (38 reputation)Forum Tea Boy - (38 reputation)Forum Tea Boy - (38 reputation)

Group: Awaiting Activation
Last Active: Sunday, August 11, 2019 11:40:58 AM
Hi Everyone,

Sorry this post is going to be long and thank you for reading,

I am having trouble with my own car, I'm an ex tech and don't have access to a full workshop any more although I have some time at a friend’s shop this weekend and I am looking for ideas to help me trace the fault.

The car is a 2006 Saab 9-3 2.8T V6 fitted with a Bosch ME9.6 management system.

I had this issue start around 2-3 months ago, the car has a rough idle most but not all of the time, the RPM's are fairly stable and not hunting but it is not smooth, altering the load on the engine sometimes makes a difference to the rough idle (i.e turning the a/c on or off, sometimes being off or on will make it idle better but there is no rhyme or reason to which will make it better if at all).

In addition to the rough idle I have a misfire which appears mostly under moderate load below 2500 RPM, this is most apparent in 3rd gear and above, accelerating normally within 1st and 2nd rarely show the fault although the fault does appear to change daily and it can be mild one day and much worse on the next, somedays the fault is barely there and the car has a smooth idle.